Calgary-Area Farmers’ Markets 2010

Farmers' Market ProduceIn spite of the snow falling outside (end of May in Calgary… what more to say?), it’s coming up on summertime.  This means that the farmers’ markets are getting started.  Yes, I know there are some farmers’ markets that run through the winter months, but summer is their prime-time.  I’m a fan of farmers’ markets because they are a great place to buy fresh and local, and you get a chance to talk to some of the farmers themselves.

What follows is a listing of some local farmers’ markets.  Each one listed has been checked out online by me to confirm times, dates, and locations.  As I go to various markets I will try to update this listing with a brief review and listing of major and minor vendors.  If I go to one and decide that it sucks, I will come back and cross it out (reasoning will be provided, of course).  Any new markets I learn of will be added to this list.

Airdrie Farmers’ Market

  • Wednesday (15:30 – 19:00)
  • June 2 through September
  • Royal Canadian Legion, Airdrie Branch

Bearspaw Farmers’ Market

  • Sunday (11:00 – 14:00)
  • June 5 – October 3
  • 25240 Nagway Road (Bearspaw Lions Club)

Calgary Grassroots Northland

  • Tuesday (15:30 – 19:00)
  • June 8 – September 28
  • Northland Village Mall Parking Lot

Calgary Green Market

  • Sunday (11:00 – 17:00)
  • June – September
  • Tomkins Park, 17 Avenue SW

Cochrane Farmers’ Market

  • Saturday (09:00 – 13:00)
  • June 5 – September 25
  • Cochrane Ranche Historic Site

Hillhurst-Sunnyside Farmers’ Market

  • Wednesday (15:30 – 19:30)
  • June 2 – October 6
  • Hillhurst-Sunnyside Community Centre

Strathmore Farmers’ Market

  • Friday (15:00 – 18:30)
  • June 11 – September 24
  • Strathmore Exhibition Grounds

Happy shopping!  And of course, please feel free to let me know if you know of  a great farmers’ market that I haven’t listed.

