Field School Day 1

We got off to a bit of a late start this morning as the vans were delivered late.  Once we got everything loaded, though, we were off like a tic and in K-Country before you knew it.  A couple of the students who drove out passed my van, but I didn’t think fast enough to get my camera out and take a picture.  Oh well.

Once we got unloaded at the Field Station, we were off again to deploy the four sondes we brought for unattended monitoring of a water body.  Geoff geared up in the hip waders and we sent him into Sibbald Meadows Pond with our sonde.  We were all a little surprised how deep it got just a few metres from shore.

After that we came back to the Field Station for lunch (salad, beef stew, and some fantastic bread, with strawberries and cream for dessert) followed by the afternoon work.

My group spent the afternoon doing vegetation identification along the forestry trail which runs near the Field Station.  I should now be able to identify a few things even when they don’t have flowers on them.  We saw one of the very few douglas fir trees in the area.  This ecology/biology stuff is way out of my knowledge zone, but I am really enjoying it.  I just wish I could draw better, because my plant drawings don’t look very good.  Oh well.

Dinner consisted of perogies, cabbage rolls, pork sausages, and some options for vegetarians and celiacs people.  Dessert was chocolate pudding, berry pie, and whipped cream.  Ooooh it was good!

Now tonight some people have gone over to Barrier Lake, others are reading or doing lab work, and still more are doing who knows what.  Our debrief for tonight was cancelled because we haven’t really done much yet, but we will have one tomorrow.

Oh yeah, and we all were rather delighted at the weather.  Really, we couldn’t have asked for better.  The only rain in the forecast is tomorrow afternoon.  The rest of the week is supposed to be fabulous.

